Is Gnocchi Gluten Free?

Dan Gold

Written by Becca

A common question is: Is gnocchi gluten-free? This is a really good question because gnocchi is commonly marketed as a potato pasta, or something that looks like pasta, but isn’t.

Here’s the truth, though: gnocchi is not completely free of gluten. Therefore, it is not a gluten-free food. If you are following a gluten-free diet or if you have celiac disease, eating gnocchi is not going to be safe for you.

Here’s a little more about gnocchi. Gnocchi is indeed part of Italian cuisine, and it’s “like” a little potato dumpling. However, what are the ingredients in gnocchi?

Gnocchi surely has some potato involved, but it is made from wheat flour, eggs, herbs, cheese (optional) and potatoes. Seeing the wheat flour in this recipe, you can gather that because wheat has gluten, gnocchi is not a gluten-free food (when made in the traditional way).

There is good news, though. You can make gnocchi at home, or you can start a search for gluten-free gnocchi. Gluten-free gnocchi would be gnocchi that has gluten-free flour instead of wheat flour.

If you choose to go down the path of making gluten-free gnocchi from scratch, you can use a gluten-free flour recommended by any number of online recipes, or cauliflower!

I’m glad you asked about gnocchi, because hopefully you’ll be making the right decision when it comes to ordering gnocchi in a restaurant or eating it out at a party. Be sure to always read ingredients on packages and ask the questions you need to, if dining out, when it comes to eating gnocchi.

Last updated

November 21st, 2022