Is Gatorade Gluten Free?

Dan Gold

Written by Becca

Gatorade is a sugary sports drink that is full of electrolytes and a pretty high volume of sugar! Is it gluten-free?

Yes, Gatorade is gluten-free. I say this because Gatorade does not contain any gluten!

While most sports drinks and rehydration drinks do not contain gluten, it of course is crucial to check. I can’t think of a time when I was in a drugstore or 7Eleven looking for a drink and found one to have gluten, but it pays to be aware of ingredients!

The main ingredients in Gatorade are Water, Sugar, Dextrose, Citric Acid, Salt, Sodium Citrate, Monopotassium Phosphate, Gum Arabic, Glycerol Ester Of Rosin, Natural Flavor and any number of food dyes like Yellow 5 or Red 40.

With none of these ingredients coming from wheat, barley or rye, you can be nearly sure that Gatorade is a gluten-free beverage.

Of course, if you are on a diet and trying to eliminate non-pure foods and artificial ingredients, then maybe stay clear of Gatorade. While on a gluten-free diet, it’s also best to be completely sure of every ingredient you are ingesting, and the more complex the ingredients, the more confusing the food label will be.

Last updated

November 21st, 2022