Is Dijon Mustard Gluten Free?

Dan Gold

Written by Becca

I have looked up this exact question in the past, as I have wanted to verify if dijon mustard is really gluten-free.

What is dijon mustard? It is a tangy, spicy and quite pungent form of mustard, originally from France. Compared to regular yellow mustard, the taste is very different.

Asking about dijon mustard being gluten-free is a valid question. It has a difference in ingredients when compared to regular yellow mustard for your hot dog. It’s also a different color. So what’s in dijon mustard?

Dijon mustard has a short list of ingredients. Here they are: mustard seeds, white vinegar (gluten-free), white wine, sugar and salt. Other variations on this recipe will also include onion, or shallot, allspice and/or garlic powder.

If you’re referencing the famous Grey Poupon recipe, you will find that it also includes egg yolks, and “modified food starch.”

Modified food starch is the only debatable ingredient that is vague, for a gluten-free diet or for someone with celiac disease.

However, there is great news. If you would like to have the Grey Poupon dijon mustard, it does not have any products in it that contain gluten.

On the other hand, it is not certified gluten-free, which means the facility it comes from may contain gluten, or other risks like that.

Back to the question of if dijon mustard is gluten-free, the answer is yes (just with an asterisk). I would urge you to check the label on the bottle of dijon mustard you wish to buy, or, ask the restaurant you’re dining in if they have the bottle of dijon mustard for you to look at. Chances are that the dijon mustard being used will be gluten-free, due to the ingredients commonly used above.

If you’d like to make your own dijon mustard, there are lots of online recipes for that! During your cooking from scratch, you can of course have complete control over making your dijon mustard completely gluten-free.

Last updated

November 21st, 2022