Are Cheez-Its Gluten Free?

Dan Gold

Written by Becca

I am glad you’re asking! Cheez-Its are NOT a gluten-free snack due to being made from wheat flour, which is a gluten ingredient.

The top ingredients in Cheez-It cheesy snacks are enriched wheat flour, vegetable oil and cheese made with skim milk. This makes Cheez-Its an unsafe snack for anyone with celiac disease or for someone following a gluten-free diet.

Wheat flour is one of the main food items that contains gluten, along with barley and rye. Therefore, any snacks that contain wheat are not suitable for a gluten-free diet or especially for anyone with celiac disease.

While Cheez-Its are delicious, they are not a gluten-free food, so if you’re following a gluten-free diet, give them away to a friend if you’ve already wound up with some!

There are a few types of gluten-free alternatives to Cheez-Its that you can find online, like other cheesy gluten-free crackers. You could also try making your own, at home!

Last updated

November 21st, 2022