Are Cheerios Gluten Free?

Dan Gold

Written by Becca

As of recent years, the answer to the question, “Are Cheerios gluten-free?” is a big “YES!”

When Cheerios became gluten-free, it was a huge win for the gluten-free community. I looked into how this happened, and it wasn’t that Cheerios used to contain gluten ingredients like wheat, but rather, Cheerios upped their game in terms of eliminating possible contamination of their oat supply with gluten-containing grains.

So, Cheerios is made of oats, and now those oats are certifiably gluten-free, which makes anyone on a gluten-free diet want to rejoice!

Now, the amazing news is that five of the Cheerios cereals are officially gluten-free (and it makes me so happy!). These cereals are the Original Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios, Multi-Grain Cheerios, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios and Frosted Cheerios.

If you want to see the ingredients for yourself, always check the box before you consume your cereal. One thing to note is that ingredients can also differ by country, so if you’re in Canada, or elsewhere, make sure that the Cheerios are marked gluten-free.

If you are wondering what the other ingredients in Cheerios are (the original Cheerios), let’s take a look: “Whole Grain Oats, Corn Starch, Sugar, Salt, Tripotassium Phosphate, Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) Added to Preserve Freshness.”

We’re glad you asked if Cheerios are a gluten-free cereal to enjoy!

Last updated

November 21st, 2022