Is Buckwheat Gluten Free?

Dan Gold

Written by Becca

Buckwheat is one of the most confusing foods, both for what it is and why it has its name

Buckwheat is in fact a “pseudograin,” meaning it is actually a seed (like quinoa) and can function, or be used as, a grain in cooking and cuisine.

Even though it has “wheat” in its name, buckwheat is not wheat. What a crazy think to think about! It’s kind of like how eggplant is not made of eggs…. but I digress.

Buckwheat as a food is actually a seed. Because it is a seed, not a grain, and not a gluten-containing grain, it is thereby gluten-free. It’s also a good source of fiber and protein.

You can use buckwheat as a substitute for foods like pasta, couscous or rice. It has a different flavor, though. The benefit is that it does not contain gluten! You may find buckwheat as a part of gluten-free flours or gluten-free baking recipes.

Cooking with buckwheat can let you follow a gluten-free diet. If you choose to eat buckwheat products outside your home (for example, at a bakery, cafe or restaurant), be sure to check with the staff or with your server as to each and every ingredient in the dish. Sometimes, a buckwheat recipe may have hidden gluten-containing ingredients if it is not being made for someone specifically on a gluten-free diet or with celiac disease.

The good news is that the Internet is now full of buckwheat recipes, so you can start cooking with this gluten-free superfood right now!

Last updated

November 21st, 2022